Robert Grosvenor
Robert Grosvenor

-
Consortium Museum
Curated by Seungduk Kim & Franck Gautherot
Robert Grosvenor, "Untitled," 2013-2014, - Photo: def image, Courtesy of the artist and Galerie Max Hetzler, Berlin | Paris | London
Robert Grosvenor, "Untitled," 2013-2014, - Photo: def image, Courtesy of the artist and Galerie Max Hetzler, Berlin | Paris | London
Robert Grosvenor, "Untitled," 2009, fiberglass, flocking, aluminum, two parts: red unit: 48 x 48 x 192 in. (121.9 x 121.9 x 487.7 cm); aluminum unit: 48 x 312 x 1/2 in. (121.9 x 792.5 x 1.3 cm).; Installation view: Whitney Biennial, Whitney Museum, New York, 2010.
© Robert Grosvenor. Courtesy Paula Cooper Gallery, New York.
Robert Grosvenor, "Quadrum," 2005-2006, steel, aluminum, fiberglass, enamel paint, 4 parts: 13 x 204 x 84 inches (33 x 518.2 x 213.4 cm); 24 x 72 x 48 inches (61 x 182.9 x 121.9 cm); 24 x 72 x 48 inches (61 x 182.9 x 121.9 cm); 83 x 83 x 1 1/2 inches (210.8 x 210.8 x 3.2 cm); Installation view: Paula Cooper Gallery, New York, 2007.
© Robert Grosvenor. Courtesy Paula Cooper Gallery, New York.
Robert Grosvenor, "Untitled," 1987-88, steel, plastic, paint, 75 x 96 x 245 in. (190.5 x 243.8 x 622.3 cm); Installation view: Museu de Serrales, Portugal, 2005.
© Robert Grosvenor. Photo by Rita Burmester. Courtesy of Fundação Serralves, Porto, Portugal, and Paula Cooper Gallery, New York.
Studio view, Robert Grosvenor, Untitled, 2016, plywood, aluminum, steel, fiberglass and plexiglass; approx. 84 x 360 x 240 in. © Robert Grosvenor. Courtesy Paula Cooper Gallery, New York.

Robert Grosvenor (b. 1937, New York City) is an artist whose work resists facile categorizations. Mostly known as a sculptor, he has also made works on paper and photographs; although his early work has been historically linked with Minimalism, notably through his presence in the 1966 landmark exhibition Primary Structures at the Jewish Museum in 1966, he has soon deviated from its sleek orthodoxy to forge a singular, idiosyncratic path. Making use of ordinary, inexpensive materials, he builds large-scale sculptures that seemingly defy gravity or float on water, conjure both the familiar and the uncanny through their attentive awareness of the vernacular. An exacting artist, his entire output numbers only about thirty pieces over the several decades of his career. 
For this new personal exhibition, the Consortium Museum presents artworks focusing on a core selection of seven pieces chosen by the artist, completed with historical pieces.  The exhibition will be accompanied with a monograph. 

Le Consortium has exhibited Robert Grosvenor’s work in the 1994 exhibition Country Sculpture and again in 2003 when Le Consortium organized C’est arrivé demain, la 7e édition de la Biennale de Lyon

Robert Grosvenor
Robert Grosvenor

-
Consortium Museum
Curated by Seungduk Kim & Franck Gautherot
Robert Grosvenor, "Untitled," 2013-2014, - Photo: def image, Courtesy of the artist and Galerie Max Hetzler, Berlin | Paris | London
Robert Grosvenor, "Untitled," 2013-2014, - Photo: def image, Courtesy of the artist and Galerie Max Hetzler, Berlin | Paris | London
Robert Grosvenor, "Untitled," 2009, fiberglass, flocking, aluminum, two parts: red unit: 48 x 48 x 192 in. (121.9 x 121.9 x 487.7 cm); aluminum unit: 48 x 312 x 1/2 in. (121.9 x 792.5 x 1.3 cm).; Installation view: Whitney Biennial, Whitney Museum, New York, 2010.
© Robert Grosvenor. Courtesy Paula Cooper Gallery, New York.
Robert Grosvenor, "Quadrum," 2005-2006, steel, aluminum, fiberglass, enamel paint, 4 parts: 13 x 204 x 84 inches (33 x 518.2 x 213.4 cm); 24 x 72 x 48 inches (61 x 182.9 x 121.9 cm); 24 x 72 x 48 inches (61 x 182.9 x 121.9 cm); 83 x 83 x 1 1/2 inches (210.8 x 210.8 x 3.2 cm); Installation view: Paula Cooper Gallery, New York, 2007.
© Robert Grosvenor. Courtesy Paula Cooper Gallery, New York.
Robert Grosvenor, "Untitled," 1987-88, steel, plastic, paint, 75 x 96 x 245 in. (190.5 x 243.8 x 622.3 cm); Installation view: Museu de Serrales, Portugal, 2005.
© Robert Grosvenor. Photo by Rita Burmester. Courtesy of Fundação Serralves, Porto, Portugal, and Paula Cooper Gallery, New York.
Studio view, Robert Grosvenor, Untitled, 2016, plywood, aluminum, steel, fiberglass and plexiglass; approx. 84 x 360 x 240 in. © Robert Grosvenor. Courtesy Paula Cooper Gallery, New York.

Robert Grosvenor (né en 1937 à New York) est un artiste dont le travail résiste aux catégorisations faciles. Principalement connu en tant que sculpteur, il a aussi réalisé des œuvres sur papier et des photographies. Bien que son travail des débuts ait été lié à l‘art minimal historique, notamment avec sa présence dans Primary Structures, l’exposition emblématique de 1966 au Jewish Museum de New York, il s’est vite écarté de l’orthodoxie épurée de ce mouvement artistique pour construire un parcours original et singulier. Il se sert de matériaux ordinaires et peu coûteux pour fabriquer des sculptures de grande ampleur qui semblent défier les lois de la pesanteur ou flotter sur l’eau, et évoquent ce qui est à la fois étrange et familier de par leur attention portée aux formes vernaculaires. Un artiste exigeant, sa production toute entière se limite à une trentaine d’œuvres créées tout au long de sa carrière. 

Pour cette nouvelle exposition personnelle, le Consortium Museum proposera une présentation centrée sur un noyau de sept œuvres sélectionnées par l’artiste et complétées par des pièces historiques, et qui sera accompagnée par la publication d’une monographie. 

Le Consortium a exposé les travaux de Robert Grosvenor dès 1994 avec l’exposition Country Sculpture, et de nouveau en 2003 lorsque le Consortium a organisé C’est arrivé demain, la 7e édition de la Biennale de Lyon