Films

La salle de projection conçue par Matali Crasset en 2018 pour le Consortium Museum. Photo Antoine Espinasseau.

 

The Anna Sanders Films production company was established in 1997 as a satellite activity of Le Consortium by artists and filmmakers Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Charles de Meaux, Philippe Parreno and Pierre Huyghe, who wished to produce films destined to be shown in cinemas, and with two of Le Consortium’s directors, Franck Gautherot and Xavier Douroux.
Twenty features and mid-length features have been produced since its inception. Since the selection in 2002 of Blissfully Yours by Thai filmmaker Apichatpong Weerasethakul, in the Un Certain Regard section of the Cannes Film Festival, critics have been attentive to Anna Sanders Films’ projects. Films produced by it have regularly been presented at the Cannes Film Festival; in 2004 Tropical Malady received the Jury Prize and Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives won the Palme d’Or in 2010.
Le Portrait interdit, the most recent film produced by Anna Sanders and directed by Charles de Meaux was selected at the 2017 Cannes Film Festival out of competition and released in French cinemas in December 2017. It was exceptionally well received by the press.

The second floor screening room designed by Matali Crasset for Le Consortium Museum in 2018 continuously broadcast Anna Sanders movies.

Films

La salle de projection conçue par Matali Crasset en 2018 pour le Consortium Museum. Photo Antoine Espinasseau.

La société de production cinématographique Anna Sanders Films a été fondée en 1997 en marge du Consortium par des artistes et cinéastes (Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Charles de Meaux, Philippe Parreno, Pierre Huyghe) souhaitant produire des films destinés à leur exploitation en salles, et deux directeurs du Consortium (Franck Gautherot et Xavier Douroux).

Une vingtaine de longs et moyens métrages ont été produits depuis sa création. Depuis la sélection dans la section Un Certain Regard du Festival de Cannes, en 2002, de Blissfully Yours du cinéaste thaïlandais Apichatpong Weerasethakul, la critique est attentive aux projets de Anna Sanders. Les films sont depuis régulièrement présentés à Cannes : en 2004 Tropical Malady a été Prix du Jury et en 2010 Uncle Boonmee a obtenu la Palme d’Or du Festival de Cannes.

Le plus récent film produit par Anna Sanders Films, Le Portrait interdit, réalisé par Charles de Meaux a été sélectionné à Cannes 2017 hors compétition et est sorti en salles en décembre 2017, dont la presse lui a réservé un accueil exceptionnel.

 

La salle de projection conçue par Matali Crasset pour le Consortium Museum en 2018, au premier étage du bâtiment, diffuse en continu les films produits par Anna Sanders.