L'Almanach 18
Cecilia Bengolea, Genieve Figgis, Jacqueline Humphries, Jean Baudrillard, Luc Ming Yan, Martin Puryear, Mati Klarwein, Matt Connors, Nathalie Du Pasquier, Renaud Jerez, Salvo, Thomas Schütte, Yann Gerstberger

Consortium Museum
Curated by Franck Gautherot, Seungduk Kim, Stéphanie Moisdon, Anne Pontégnie, Eric Troncy

L’Almanach is an international biennial exhibition founded in 2014 at Le Consortium Museum. L’Almanach 18 is the third installment, which began on June 22, 2018 and lasted through the summer; it was especially significant as it marked the beginning of Le Consortium’s fifth decade. Founded in 1977, the same year the Pompidou Center was inaugurated, Le Consortium celebrated its fortieth anniversary last year.

The firm intent for this biennial was to not lend it any specific theme and to trust the viewers’ perception of the twelve solo propositions designed by the artists and curators and the specific vision they offered for today’s contemporary art.

On the special occasion of this third edition, Le Consortium displayed its expertise with a presentation of its various operations, from its publishing arm with Les Presses du Réel to its movie production branch with Anna Sanders Films. It presented new acquisitions for the collection, organized a series of webcast lectures, devoted an exhibition to Jean Baudrillard at the famed Domaine de la Romanée Conti, published Observation, the second volume of the history of its exhibitions, and launched the first issue of a new biannual magazine about its exhibitions and other events.

A new bookstore and screening room designed by Matali Crasset for Le Consortium was unveiled for L’Almanach 18, as well as Le Consortium’s new visual identity designed by M/M Paris. The second floor of the Shigeru Ban-designed building is now set aside to present the permanent collection; where new acquisitions were exhibited for L’Almanach 18.


Jean Baudrillard
Cecilia Bengolea

Matt Connors
Nathalie Du Pasquier
Genieve Figgis
Yann Gertsberger
Jacqueline Humphries
Renaud Jerez
Mati Klarwein
Martin Puryear
Thomas Schütte
Luc Ming Yan