New York: The 1980s; Part II
Aimee Morgana, Alan Uglow, David Diao, Jessica Stockholder, Matthew McCaslin, Michael Scott, Olivier Mosset, Steven Parrino, Steve DiBenedetto

-
Consortium Museum

Olivier Mosset, Steve DiBenedetto, Michael Scott, Alan Uglow, David Diao, Jessica Stockholder, Steven Parrino, Matthew McCaslin, Aimee Morgana


The Consortium Museum presents a new thematic display of artworks from its permanent collection focused on art made in New York in the 1980s and the early 1990s.  The Consortium Museum collection holdings are particularly rich in works from this era, which requires a 2-part presentation. This second part is a follow-up to  New York, The 1980s; Part 1 (24 November 2018 - 13 October 2019)

As with the first part, the works selected reflect on the shared history of the Consortium Museum and the artists it has followed over the years, and also on the friendships and social relationships that have linked the artists with each other and with guest curators such as Bob Nickas, who regularly invited them for his exhibitions. In contrast with the first installment of the collection presentation, in which Steven Parrino and Steve DiBenedetto’s works were already exhibited, the choice here is to highlight artworks created at the end of the decade and at the beginning of the 1990s. This was a time when aesthetic shifts came to the fore, most notably demonstrated by the Jessica Stockholder work exhibited here, which signaled the emergence of the large, sculptural installations that became predominant in the art of the 1990s. Installations are also the chosen medium for Matthew McCaslin and Aimee Morgana, whose artworks detach from the wall to expand onto the floor and into space, and use familiar objects to induce a certain kind of absurdist poetry while remaining aware of art history with their nods to Surrealism for Morgana and to Duchamp’s readymades for McCaslin.

If geometric abstraction is still very present, most specifically with artworks by Alan Uglow, David Diao, Olivier Mosset and Michael Scott, it starts to disintegrate within Steve DiBenedetto’s paintings that leave the influence of the Neo-Geo art movement behind to take a much more organic appearance inspired by writer Don DeLillo’s mazelike plots and bridge the gap between literary and artistic Postmodernisms.
As for Steven Parrino’s Blob, it recalls the issues around the informe [formlessness] developed by French philosopher Georges Bataille as updated in the 1990s by art historians Georges Didi-Huberman in France and Rosalind Krauss and Yve-Alain Bois in the United States.

These visual explorations, formal inventions and aesthetic choices also represent a structural shift happening after the 1987 stock market crash and the numerous subsequent gallery closures, the economic recession giving space for artists to experiment more freely, away from the pressure of the burgeoning art market of the early 1990s.

New York: The 1980s; Part II
Aimee Morgana, Alan Uglow, David Diao, Jessica Stockholder, Matthew McCaslin, Michael Scott, Olivier Mosset, Steve DiBenedetto

-
Consortium Museum
David Robbins – "Talent", 1986. "New York: The 80s (part I)", works from the Consortium Museum collection. Photo André Morin © Consortium Museum

Olivier Mosset, Steve DiBenedetto, Michael Scott, Alan Uglow, David Diao, Jessica Stockholder, Steven Parrino, Matthew McCaslin, Aimee Morgana


Le Consortium Museum présente un nouvel accrochage thématique des œuvres de sa collection permanente, centré sur l’art des années quatre-vingt à New York. La collection du Consortium Museum comprend un ensemble particulièrement riche d’œuvres de cette période, qui nécessite d’être montré en deux parties : celle-ci, la seconde, fait suite à New York, The 1980s; Part 1 (24 November 2018 - 13 October 2019)

Cette nouvelle présentation propose une sélection d’œuvres d’artistes actifs à New York au cours des années 1980 et 1990. Comme dans la première partie de la présentation de la collection, les œuvres sélectionnées ici reflètent l’histoire du Consortium Museum et des artistes qu’il a accompagnés au fil du temps, mais aussi les liens d’amitié qui ont pu se tisser entre les artistes eux-mêmes ou avec les commissaires invités comme Bob Nickas qui les a régulièrement présentés dans ses expositions. À la différence du chapitre précédent, dans lequel Steven Parrino et Steve DiBenedetto étaient déjà exposés, le choix ici se porte sur des œuvres créées à la fin de la décennie et au début des années 1990. C’est ainsi qu’on peut voir poindre certains changements esthétiques, notamment avec l’œuvre de Jessica Stockholder qui signale l’apparition des grandes installations sculpturales qui deviendront prépondérantes dans l’art des années 1990. Les installations sont également le mode d’expression de Matthew McCaslin et Aimee Morgana, dont les travaux quittent le plan du mur pour se développer au sol et dans l’espace, utilisant des objets familiers pour donner naissance à une certaine poésie de l’absurde qui reste cependant consciente de l’histoire de l’art, et notamment du surréalisme pour Morgana et du readymade duchampien pour McCaslin.

Si l’abstraction géométrique est encore très présente, en particulier avec les œuvres d’Alan Uglow, David Diao, Olivier Mosset et Michael Scott, elle commence à se déliter dans les tableaux de Steve DiBenedetto qui quitte l’influence du mouvement neo-geo pour prendre un aspect beaucoup plus organique, inspiré par les intrigues labyrinthiques de l’écrivain Don DeLillo, comblant ainsi l’écart entre postmodernités visuelles et littéraires.

Ces explorations visuelles, ces inventions formelles et ces choix esthétiques marquent aussi un changement structurel qui survient après le krach boursier de 1987 et la fermeture de nombreuses galeries qui s’ensuivit, la crise économique laissant alors le champ libre aux artistes pour expérimenter librement, loin des pressions du marché de l’art qui se met en place au début des années 1980.

L'exposition est complétée par une sélection de documents d'archives liés aux artistes présentés dans cette exposition de la collection.