Austin Eddy
Sad Landscapes

-
Académie Conti, La Romanée Conti
Curated by Eric Troncy
Installation view, Austin Eddy, Selected Poems, Eva Presenhuber, Private Showroom, New York, 2022
© Austin Eddy Courtesy the artist and Galerie Eva Presenhuber Photo: Kyle Knodell

Austin Eddy (1986, Boston). Lives in New York.


With generous support from Eva Presenhuber gallery, Zurich, New York, Vienne


 

Night, melancholy, heavy with summer, 
Full of silence and darkness, in the azure 
That a gentle wind brushes, rocks asleep 
The tree that trembles, the nightingale that weeps. 

Paul Verlaine, “The Nightingale” (Sad Landscapes), Saturnian Poems, 1866. Translation, A.S. Kline, 2002, Poetry In Translation

 

By setting his exhibition under the auspices of Paul Verlaine's Saturnian Poems—the title "Sad Landscapes" is borrowed from one of the four sets of poems (“Melancholia,” “Etchings,” “Sad Landscapes,” “Caprices”) that comprise Verlaine’s first published collection—Austin Eddy makes no secret of the poetic dimension of his work.

Born in Boston in 1986, Eddy studied painting and drawing at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, before moving to New York in 2011. "I think the first thing I remember ever making was a rudimentary drawing of a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle. It was made up of a series of scribbles that took up the majority of the page, and roughly described the shape of a figure. Can't remember if it was drawn in a green or just in pencil." 

The birds, a motif reminiscent of those by Matisse and Brancusi that Eddy now summons iteratively, are akin to a point of entry into the painting of feeling that is his work. Simple and immediately identifiable, they also constitute a catalog of abstract forms: the eyes are circles that can be concentric or added together, the beaks are pointed forms that can be open and bisected, to create a more or less widened triangle, etc. In fact, his work was essentially abstract until 2018. Now, with its semblance of naive or folk art aspects blended with decorative aspirations, Austin Eddy's painting is certainly a singular mirror of the present in art, where everything is re-evaluated without a grandiloquent trial, where no style seems taboo anymore, but where the ambition of the avant-garde has not surrendered. It is a painting that is also very conscious of what it is now: a kind of experience for the viewer. "I am not sure what I hope people take away from the paintings other than some sort of an experience. Hopefully something that makes them think about something other than checking their phones.”

Sad Landscapes is held in the former winery of the Prince de Conti —an 18th century house located nearby the famous vineyard of La Romanée Conti. It brings together new paintings, a set of drawings made over the past three years, and a significant group of bronze sculptures where Austin Eddy evokes the memory of modernist sculpture.

— Éric Troncy

Austin Eddy
Sad Landscapes

-
Académie Conti, La Romanée Conti
Curated by Eric Troncy
Austin Eddy, « Sad Landscapes », Académie Conti, Vosne-Romanée, 2022. Photo: Rebecca Fanuele © Consortium Museum.
Austin Eddy, « Sad Landscapes », Académie Conti, Vosne-Romanée, 2022. Photo: Rebecca Fanuele © Consortium Museum.
Austin Eddy, « Sad Landscapes », Académie Conti, Vosne-Romanée, 2022. Photo: Rebecca Fanuele © Consortium Museum.
Austin Eddy, « Sad Landscapes », Académie Conti, Vosne-Romanée, 2022. Photo: Rebecca Fanuele © Consortium Museum.
Austin Eddy, « Sad Landscapes », Académie Conti, Vosne-Romanée, 2022. Photo: Rebecca Fanuele © Consortium Museum.
Austin Eddy, « Sad Landscapes », Académie Conti, Vosne-Romanée, 2022. Photo: Rebecca Fanuele © Consortium Museum.
Austin Eddy, « Sad Landscapes », Académie Conti, Vosne-Romanée, 2022. Photo: Rebecca Fanuele © Consortium Museum.
Austin Eddy, « Sad Landscapes », Académie Conti, Vosne-Romanée, 2022. Photo: Rebecca Fanuele © Consortium Museum.

Austin Eddy (1986, Boston). Vit à New York.


Avec le soutien de la galerie Eva Presenhuber, Zurich, New York, Vienne
Remerciements : Livie Fine Art, Zurich


 

« Nuit mélancolique et lourde d'été,
Pleine de silence et d'obscurité,
Berce sur l'azur qu'un vent doux effleure
L'arbre qui frissonne et l'oiseau qui pleure.
 »

Paul Verlaine, "Le Rossignol (Paysages Tristes)", Poème Saturnien, 1866.

 

En plaçant son exposition sous les auspices des Poèmes Saturniens de Paul Verlaine — le titre « Sad Landscapes » est emprunté par l’artiste à l’un des quatre ensembles de ce recueil de Paul Verlaine (Melancholia, Eaux-Fortes, Paysages Tristes, Caprices), Austin Eddy ne fait pas mystère de la dimension poétique, justement, de son œuvre.

Né à Boston en 1986, Eddy étudia la peinture et le dessin à l’école de l’Art Institute of Chicago puis partit s’installer à New York en 2011. « Je crois que la première chose que je me rappelle avoir réalisée était un dessin rudimentaire d'une Tortue Ninja. Il était constitué d'une série de gribouillis qui prenaient la moitié de la page et rappelait grossièrement la forme d'une silhouette. Je ne me souviens pas s'il a été dessiné en vert ou simplement au crayon ».

Les oiseaux, motif qu’il convoque désormais de manière itérative, et rappellent ceux de Matisse et Brancusi, sont comme des portes d’entrée dans la peinture de sentiment qu’est son œuvre. Simples, immédiatement identifiables par le spectateur, ils sont aussi un répertoire de formes abstraites : les yeux sont des cercles qui peuvent être additionnés et concentriques, les becs sont des formes pointues et ouvertes en deux qui produisent un triangle plus ou moins évasé, etc. De fait, son œuvre fut essentiellement abstraite (jusqu’en 2018). Désormais, avec ses faux airs de peinture naïve, de Folk Art aux aspirations décoratives, la peinture d’Austin Eddy est assurément un miroir singulier du présent de l’art, où tout est réévalué sans procès grandiloquent, ou plus aucun style ne semble tabou, mais où l’ambition de l’avant-garde n’a pas cédé. C’est une peinture qui est aussi très consciente de ce qu’elle est aujourd’hui : une sorte d’expérience pour le spectateur. « Je ne sais pas exactement ce que j’espère que les gens retiennent de mes peintures, si ce n’est une sorte d’expérience. J’espère que cela leur fera penser à autre chose que regarder leur téléphone ».

L’exposition « Sad Landscapes » se tient dans l’ancienne cuverie du Prince de Conti­ — une maison du XVIIIe siècle située au milieu du célèbre vignoble de La Romanée Conti. Elle rassemble des peintures nouvelles, un ensemble de dessins réalisés au cours des trois dernières années, ainsi qu’un ensemble important de sculptures en bronze dans lequel Austin Eddy convoque le souvenir de la sculpture moderniste.

— Éric Troncy

 

Académie Conti 3, rue de la Goillotte – 21700 Vosne-Romanée 
Vernissage le samedi 2 juillet 2022 de 15h30 à 17h30
Ouvert tous les dimanches de 14h30 à 17h30 du 3 juillet au 9 octobre 2022

L'Académie Conti est un projet conjoint du Consortium Museum et du domaine de la Romanée Conti.