Bertrand Lavier
"Unwittingly But Willingly"

-
Le Consortium
Curated by Consortium Museum & FRAC Bourgogne

Bertrand Lavier (1949, Châtillon-sur-Seine)


 

The two collections of the FRAC Bourgogne and the Consortium Museum taken together hold the most important group of artworks by Bertrand Lavier in France. Appropriately, through the grouping of about thirty artworks from these two collections and presented at the Consortium Museum from September 17, 2021 to May 22, 2022, Unwittingly But Willingly is an exhibition that takes a closer look back at the artist’s career with a survey of about thirty artworks illustrating each of the artist’s chantiers* from the 1980s until now. From the paint-coated objects through the “stacked pieces” to his Walt Disney Productions, Bertrand Lavier’s work questions our relationship with reality and its representation.

A major presence on the French art scene, Bertrand Lavier (born 1949, Burgundy) was not destined to be an artist. Self-taught, in 1969 he created his first artwork on a vine at the family home, later to be followed by larges series of what he would later call his “chantiers.” In the 1970s, after comparing different hues of the same color sold by two paint brand competitors, Lavier started producing his first poetical reflections on the very concept of painting with works such as Rouge Bordeaux par Novémail et Ripolin (1986) or Rouge de Chine par Corona et Tollens (1983-2000).
Bertrand Lavier’s work operates by unexpected semantic displacements that often humorously juggle with elements of language. In this it follows the theoretical footsteps of Marcel Duchamp’s readymades, where Lavier appropriates this concept while bringing in hybridizations inherited from his training as a horticulturist. This conceptual relocation will later lead to his first “stacked objects” series where appliances and pieces of furniture are associated and placed on top of each other (Panton sur Fagor, 1989). His work thus upends our perception of our immediate environment when confronted with these conceptual displacements created through simple gestures, but also crystallizes fundamental issues within contemporary art history.
With subtlety, these reflections prod the traditional categories that define the work of art. As soon as Lavier started to elaborate his body of work of “painted-over objects” (genuine everyday objects coated by a rough layer of paint that nevertheless respect their original color tones, such as Golden Brot, 1983), the line between painting and sculpture was blurred.
With Bertrand Lavier’s work, issues of framing always come into focus, most notably with artworks such as Lita (1988), an artwork that only exists through a rectangular area defined by the beam cast by spotlights, or Composition rouge, blanche et jaune (1988) where a delineated basketball court composes a new pictorial abstraction.
Another large project explored by Lavier, the Walt Disney Productions, focuses once again on playing with our certainties. With an Appropriationist gesture, the artist transposes into real art pieces the fictional artworks found in an issue of the French Mickey Mouse Magazine and stereotypical of modern art. 
Unwittingly But Willingly is an opportunity for an extended significant presentation of an international artist whose local roots are asserted with the artworks from our two collections. 

*The artist uses the French word “chantier” which means construction site, and by extension any project or investigation in progress.

Bertrand Lavier
"Unwittingly But Willingly"

-
Le Consortium
Curated by Consortium Museum & FRAC Bourgogne
Bertrand Lavier, "Landscape Painting And Beyond", 1979. Collection FRAC Bourgogne. Photographie © Studio Rémi Villaggi

Bertrand Lavier (1949, Châtillon-sur-Seine)


 

Vernissage le vendredi 17 septembre de 18h à 20h

La réunion des œuvres de Bertrand Lavier dans les collections du FRAC Bourgogne et du Consortium Museum compose le plus important ensemble des œuvres de l’artiste en France. Réalisée, justement, via la réunion des quelques trente œuvres de ces deux collections, présentée du 17 septembre 2021 au 22 mai 2022 au Consortium Museum, l’exposition “Unwittingly But Willingly” pose un regard rétrospectif sur la carrière de l’artiste en présentant une trentaine d’œuvres emblématiques qui illustrent chacun de ses “chantiers”, réalisés depuis les années 1980 à aujourd’hui. Des objets peints aux Walt Disney Productions en passant par les superpositions d’objets, les œuvres de Bertrand Lavier interrogent notre rapport au réel et sa représentation.

Artiste majeur de la scène française, Bertrand Lavier, né en 1949 en Bourgogne, n’était pas prédestiné à être artiste. Autodidacte, il réalise sa première œuvre sur la vigne de la maison familiale en 1969 ; s’ensuivra une longue série de ce qu’il intitulera plus tard ses “chantiers”. C’est en confrontant les nuances d’une même référence de couleur chez deux marques de peinture concurrentes que Bertrand Lavier va produire ses premières réflexions poétiques sur le concept même de peinture (Rouge Bordeaux par Novémail et Ripolin, 1986 ou Rouge de Chine par Corona et Tollens, 1983-2000) dans les années 1970.
L’œuvre de Bertrand Lavier procède, souvent avec humour, à des déplacements sémantiques inattendus jonglant avec les éléments de langage. Elle s’inscrit dans le prolongement théorique des ready-mades de Marcel Duchamp : Bertrand Lavier s’approprie ce concept tout en y apportant des hybridations, processus hérité de sa formation d’horticulteur. Ce déplacement mènera à ses premiers “objets superposés” où sont notamment associés des meubles et des appareils électroménagers (Panton sur Fagor, 1989). La perception de notre environnement immédiat se trouve ainsi bouleversée face à ces déplacements conceptuels réalisés à partir de gestes simples, qui cristallisent pourtant des enjeux fondamentaux de l’histoire de l’art contemporain.
Ces réflexions explorent avec subtilité les catégorisations traditionnelles qui définissent l’œuvre d’art. La frontière entre peinture et sculpture s’estompe dès lors que l’artiste élabore son corpus des “objets repeints”, véritables objets du quotidien recouverts d’une couche de peinture grossière dans le respect de leurs tons originaux (Golden Brot, 1983).
Il est aussi toujours question de cadrage dans l’œuvre de Bertrand Lavier ; intérêt particulièrement illustré par Lita (1988), une œuvre qui n’existe qu’à travers une zone rectangulaire définie par des projecteurs ou dans Composition rouge, blanche et jaune (1988) où le découpage des lignes d’un terrain de basket compose une abstraction picturale inédite.
Un autre grand chantier exploré par Bertrand Lavier, les Walt Disney Productions, s’attache une fois de plus à se jouer de nos certitudes. D’un geste appropriationniste, l’artiste transpose les œuvres du musée fictif du Journal de Mickey, stéréotypes de l’art moderne, dans la réalité.

“Unwittingly But Willingly” permet de proposer une présentation étendue et significative du travail d’un artiste au rayonnement international et dont l’ancrage local s’affirme avec les œuvres issues de nos deux collections.