New York: The Eighties; Part Two (extended version)
David Diao, Jessica Stockholder, Les Levine, Michael Corris, Michael Scott, Olivier Mosset, Peter Downsbrough, Steven Parrino

-
Le Consortium
Curated by Consortium Museum
O MOSSET 2019 1
Olivier Mosset, "Newton Creek", 1987. Photo : Rebecca Fanuele © Consortium Museum.

Michael Corris, David Diao, Peter Downsbrough, Scott Grodesky, Les Levine, Olivier Mosset, Steven Parrino, Michael Scott, Jessica Stockholder


Following the new health measures decided by the French government, the Consortium Museum will be closed from Friday, October 30, 2020, until an indeterminate date when the current lockdown is lifted.

This presentation of the collection is a follow-up to New York: The Eighties, Part One (November 24, 2018 – October 13, 2019) and New York: The Eighties, Part Two (October 26, 2019 – October 4, 2020). It offers a selection of artworks from artists active in New York during the 1980s and 1990s. The Consortium Museum collection has deep holdings of artworks from this era, which necessitate this showing in three parts. 

As with the first two parts, the works selected reflect on the shared history of the Consortium Museum and the artists it has followed over the years, and on the friendships and social relationships that have linked the artists with each other and with guest curators such as Bob Nickas, who regularly invited them for his exhibitions. The choice here is to highlight artworks created at the end of the decade and at the beginning of the 1990s, and to exhibit additional works by artists previously shown in the other two installments such as Jessica Stockholder, David Diao, Michael Scott, Olivier Mosset, Steven Parrino, and Michael Corris, together with pieces by Scott Grodesky, Les Levine and Peter Downsbrough. The artworks selected here reflect an evolution contrasting with the art made at the beginning of the 1980s; with the exception of Les Levine they leave behind subjects themes related to emerging technologies or the massive spread of commercial images (ads, video clips, magazines, etc.), to turn to a more formal type of work.
This was a time when aesthetic shifts came to the fore, most notably demonstrated by the Jessica Stockholder work exhibited here, which signaled the emergence of the large, sculptural installations that became predominant in the art of the 1990s. This iconic work was created specifically for an exhibition at the Consortium when it was still located rue Quentin in Dijon.
If geometric abstraction is still very present, most specifically with artworks by David Diao, Olivier Mosset and Michael Scott, it ultimately disappears with Scott Grodesky’s painting and its ambivalent exploration of figurative painting. 
These visual explorations, formal inventions and aesthetic choices also represent a structural shift happening after the 1987 stock market crash and the numerous subsequent gallery closures, the economic recession leaving more space for artists to experiment freely, away from the pressure of the burgeoning art market of the early 1990s.

New York: The Eighties; Part Two (extended version)
David Diao, Jessica Stockholder, Les Levine, Michael Corris, Michael Scott, Olivier Mosset, Peter Downsbrough, Scott Grodesky, Steven Parrino

-
Le Consortium
Curated by Consortium Museum
O MOSSET 2019 1
Olivier Mosset, "Newton Creek", 1987. Photo : Rebecca Fanuele © Consortium Museum.

Michael Corris, David Diao, Peter Downsbrough, Scott Grodesky, Les Levine, Olivier Mosset, Steven Parrino, Michael Scott, Jessica Stockholder


Suite aux dernières mesures sanitaires annoncées par le gouvernement, le Consortium Museum est fermé au public à partir du vendredi 30 octobre et pour une durée indéterminée.

Le Consortium Museum présente un nouvel accrochage thématique des œuvres de sa collection, centré sur l’art des années quatre-vingt à New York. La collection du Consortium Museum comprend un ensemble particulièrement riche d’œuvres de cette période, qui nécessite d’être montré en trois parties : celle-ci, la troisième, fait suite à New York: The Eighties; Part One (24 novembre 2018 - 13 octobre 2019) et New York: The Eighties; Part Two (26 octobre 2019 - 4 octobre 2020).

Comme dans les deux premières parties, les œuvres sélectionnées ici reflètent l’histoire du Consortium Museum et des artistes qu’il a accompagnés au fil du temps, mais aussi les liens d’amitié qui ont pu se tisser entre les artistes eux-mêmes, ou avec les commissaires invités comme Bob Nickas qui les a régulièrement présentés dans ses expositions. Le choix ici se porte sur des travaux créés à la fin de la décennie et au début des années 1990, et reprend avec des œuvres additionnelles des artistes précédemment exposés comme Jessica Stockholder, David Diao, Michael Scott, Olivier Mosset, Steven Parrino ou Michael Corris, auxquels s’adjoignent des pièces de Scott Grodesky, Les Levine et Peter Downsbrough. Les œuvres choisies ici reflètent une évolution par rapport au début des années 1980 et, à l’exception de Les Levine, quittent en grande partie les sujets liés aux nouvelles technologies ou à la dissémination massive d’images commerciales (publicités, vidéos clips, magazines, etc.) pour se tourner vers un travail plus formel. 
C’est ainsi qu’on peut voir poindre certains changements esthétiques, notamment avec l’œuvre de Jessica Stockholder qui signale l’apparition des grandes installations sculpturales qui deviendront prépondérantes dans l’art des années 1990. Cette œuvre emblématique de la carrière de l’artiste a été réalisée à Dijon pour le Consortium, lorsque celui-ci était installé rue Quentin.  
Si l’abstraction géométrique est encore très présente, en particulier avec les œuvres de David Diao, Olivier Mosset et Michael Scott, elle disparaît finalement avec le tableau de Scott Grodesky, qui explore une forme ambivalente de peinture figurative. Ces inventions formelles et ces choix esthétiques marquent aussi un changement structurel qui survient après le krach boursier de 1987 et la fermeture de nombreuses galeries qui s’ensuivit, la chute du marché de l’art laissant alors le champ libre aux artistes pour expérimenter librement.